Camp NaNoWriMo Week 2: Because I forgot to post…

Week 2: Because I forgot to post…

I wrote! Not a lot, and I don’t know if I will end up keeping it, but I wrote just over a thousand words!

Given that I have set the goal as 25k, I can see how that may not seem to be much, nor worth more than an excuse to grit my teeth and try harder but it’s the first thousand words. It’s done. It’s gone. I don’t have to worry about it until I get back to it in the later rafts. Yay! And if that isn’t good news, I have no idea what is.

Oh, wait, yes I do! Cosplay pics! There may be a reason I have been so slack at writing, an it has everything to do with the fat I was getting ready for an epic group cosplay. This is what happens when you’re friends with a fabulous fashion designer who happens to cosplay and you are really like one of the characters in the show. So, I was Nora from RWBY, and I had a blast!

What it did show me was that I had a few things I needed to get my head around before I could really get into the story. I had no idea what I was doing with the edit, and that was the real problem. I was making it different, not better. I had nothing to compare it to, so how could I know what bits needed work?

Then I came across this Zen Pencils comic and it all made sense.

I have never been gladder to go to a convention than I was when I was flipping through my signed copy of the book and that came up.

So this week I am working out what I need to do so I can get to it next week and kick all the word goals. I know I can push myself with words for vomit copies, and I think I an get some good chapters happening if I just know where it’s going.

This week is about mapping. And I’m going to use the scenesequel from Jim Butcher to do it. Because let’s be honest, Brandon Sanderson’s technique is still a bit too far from what my brain does for it to make sense. I keep picturing him as a mad scientist, kind of like Dr Horrible. But that could be more to do with hearing it a lot lately.

Instead of cute pictures, you get stuck with these! Nora was so much fun!

This is me, as Nora. So much fun!

This is me, as Nora. So much fun!

And this is pretty much how the day went. So  much fun!

And this is pretty much how the day went. So much fun!

Nora's weapon is a hammer, but we didn't have time to make one. So I had a lovely stand in. I have the best friends.

Nora’s weapon is a hammer, but we didn’t have time to make one. So I had a lovely stand in. I have the best friends.

Leave a Reply

