Book Review: ‘Dare You To’ by Katie McGarry

When I first picked up this book, I was curious but hesitant. The blurb sounded great, two very different teens are twined together by a late night dare and some quirky ‘it’s a small world after all’ occurance, and have to fight for the love they find.
The story is told in first person, alternating between Beth and Ryan, and explores what it costs to be true to you, to do the right thing, and the importance of doing so. The voices of the characters are distinct, so it’s pretty clear who is point of view the whole way through, even without the chapters being named.
I picked this book up basically on a whim, and I am really glad I did. The characters are engaging, believable, and the writing style carries the emotions right to you. I’ll be honest, I cried reading this one, on the packed morning train no less, which is one of my criteria for a well written book. Usually I read at home, but this was so enthralling I couldn’t leave it behind for the day.
I don’t have a rating system but this is one I would share with friends, and make sure I got back.

image

My resident book 'critic', who isn't getting her teeth into this one.

Duchess, trying to convince me she’s a good ‘critic’.

Leave a Reply

