Book Review: Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

As often happens to me during the ‘I have no idea how to work on a project’ phase of getting ready to actually pick a project, I was wandering around Kmart when I absently picked up a book and read the blurb. Usually, that’s as far as it goes. I might read the first page or two to see if I like the voice, but normally that’s where it stops.

Kendare Blake’s Anna Dressed in Blood had me reading the whole first chapter before I realised what I’d done. Which meant the book was coming home with me. 

The book is about Cas Lowood, a 17yro ghost hunter who has a very supportive and understanding white witch for a mother. Set in modern US/Canada, written in first person present tense, this book is definitely a good one to pick up if you have a day spare. Despite my open aversion to first person, and my distrust of present tense, this book had me read the whole thing in a day. Which, considering the day was 44C is no mean feat.

Cas is an understandable and likable protagonist, and manages to balance out being a teenager and not being so annoying you want to hit him with a board. He struggles with making friends, the idea of staying in one place, and coming to terms with his inheritance. Blake’s style is engaging, with just a touch of humour, and the descriptions of the things that go bump in the night are enough to make me seriously consider a night-light.

I would recommend reading this book during the day, and then watching something feel good that will keep your mind from wandering back into the book when the lights go out. Not Joss Whedon’s Dollhouse, because that man knows how to make people jump. But that’s a whole other review.

Image

Something else that goes bump in the night.

Leave a Reply

