What I learned this November

And with that, it was December.
As I write this, I am sitting on the train heading home from handing in my Honours thesis, exhausted and kept conscious by the remaining adrenaline and extensive amounts of caffeine.
This November has been a big learning curve.
Firstly, I discovered that there are times when it’s okay to admit you don’t have the mental resources to pursue two projects at once. Especially if one is intrinsically different to the other.
Secondly, I found that it’s a bad idea to test a hypothesis under said mental resource deficits… The final days of the ‘In the Gods’ Hands’ project will be posted over the next couple of days, but I didn’t get to write any more of the story. And I completely forgot to add to my word count in the NaNoWriMo site, so it’s officially zero words. I’m okay with that though, it gave me some new tricks to try next time I encounter Writer’s Block.
I also learned that sometimes it’s necessary to allow things to get put in the ‘later’ pile. That’s the joy of the alter pile, you can dig things out of it when you have the desire to.
One of the important lessons reinforced by this month is that there is only so much you can do at a time, and that’s perfectly fine. There doesn’t need to be guilt or blame, it just happens, and it happens to everyone whether they choose to admit it or not. Or admit it and deny saying anything of the sort later.
December looks like it’s going to be busy, with family and horses and bunny rabbits, but I’m already starting to think about how to select the next writing project. I feel like now I’ve handed in my thesis, I have proven to myself that I am capable of big projects that require a very different sort of work to churning out a novel in a month.
That I can do both spontaneous and structured projects, and they inform each other, is a result of deliberate attempts at improving my skills.
This November has taught me that it’s good to aim high, and even better to give myself achievable break downs of those goals that acknowledge the fact that I am human.
In doing my thesis, I discovered I have the skills to manage difficult goals and projects. If nothing else, it was worth doing the thesis to prove that to myself.

20131202-234743.jpg

Leave a Reply

