Doing Something Different

Last weekend I did something different. I helped my dad make a post and rail fence for the pony paddock. Afterwards, I was exhausted, but I felt like I’d achieved something. Considering how overwhelmed I’ve felt lately, that’s a big relief.
Which made me think about writing, surprisingly. I wasn’t thinking about how to make fencing a part of a book, though That Story may well pick it up. It made me think about what I liked about writing, and that lead to some other interesting thoughts.
Writing is a reflection of you, how you see the world, and what interests you. I’ve heard that a lot over the years. What I haven’t heard as often is it’s a reflection complete with those things you dislike too. That came as much from the fencing, where I was incredibly glad I didn’t have to work out how to make it work, as from my recent investigation of journalism. I like making things up, I like to carefully craft something that makes sense and has had the time to become well rounded. I don’t mind putting in the hard work if I have an idea what it’s going to look like at the end.
Despite my pantster attitude towards planning, who needs it, I am determined to get what I end up putting out there ‘right’. I don’t like putting a polished vomit copy out there, it needs to have had a couple of drafts at least before it can be seen. I may do freewrites with no concern, but they’re a very different thing. I try not to get precious about things, but sometimes the need to get it ‘right’ is compelling.
‘Right’ has a way of getting in the way. Despite looming deadlines, I’ve been so stuck on what I am disliking right now that I haven’t given myself the mental space to get on with things.
The easy way doesn’t get things done. Not when the easy thing to do is procrastinate and get worked up about how annoying that thing is. And then the deadline is closer, nothing more has been done, and the annoying thing still sucks.
I’ve got a plan, dangerous as that sounds, and it’s based on the idea that if I don’t like what I’m doing then I have to do something about it. The only person who can get me out of this brain-tantrum is me.
I’m going to do something different. I’m going to fence off the time I need to get things done and do them. Then I’m going to fill the rest of my time with good things. The things I’m annoyed at came stay somewhere that’s not those places.
Hopefully, my fences will be more like the new one Dad and I finished, not the fence we replaced. I have a feeling annoying things are good escape artists.

20130916-150734.jpg

Leave a Reply

