Accepting Limitations

This week, I have managed to take the few minutes to learn something from the period of busy. I have limits, and the only way to deal with them is to accept that they are there, and it’s okay.

Being able to do everything all the time is a myth. It doesn’t matter who says it, it doesn’t matter where they say it, if someone tells you that they can do everything doesn’t mean that it’s easy, or right, or even that they are doing whatever it is they say they are. Just because you theoretically can, doesn’t mean you should and certainly don’t feel bad if you don’t meet the lofty ‘can’.

There are times when the best you can do it keep ticking off the little, essential things. That can be as little as getting out of bed, or dragging your butt to the kitchen and back. That’s okay.

Slowly, as I got through the crazy busy, I found that there was something else I was doing. I was starting to find ways to make the things that I needed to do habit, and that meant I could fit in just a little more each day. As the habits became more ingrained, new habits started. Once I had managed to remember to eat breakfast in the morning, which is a big thing for me, I started to be able to think about lunch. I could plan what I needed to remember a little bit. When I had breakfast, I was able to remember that I’m supposed to walk during the day, so I was able to get out the door early enough to park a bit further away and walk.

The little, good habits I started made it possible to meet the necessary obligations I had, without the stress that would have come from just launching into everything. A little planning, well actually a lot of planning because I have a lot of little things I need to work on, meant that I could let my brain have space. And that meant I could let there be pockets of blissful, relaxing, wonderful creative thought.

It’s not just when things are hectic that I have to remember that it’s okay to have limits. Every day, there are things I want to do, that I just can’t fit in. And when it comes to giving myself  brain-space to be creative, accepting that I won’t get everything I could want done is really important. It’s in the space between the busy, the car rides and train trips, that give me the chance to explore the little bit of creative that happens. Some days, that space is waiting for the kettle to boil.

Limitations are not a bad thing. They are a part of life everyone deals with, regardless of what they claim in person or on social media. The trick to it seems to be finding out what the limitations actually are, and working around and within them.

Image

Only one of them can drink at a time, theoretically.

Leave a Reply

