Reading suggestion

Today I’m taking a moment out of talking about how my writing is going, or not going as the case may be, and hoping that someone will take my advice.

Go to your nearest bookshop, and get a copy of Beauty Queens by Libba Bray. Now. Not tomorrow, not next week, but right now. Don’t be worried about the cover, with its bikini clad, lipstick toting beauty queen contestant, the book is so worth any odd looks you get from the cover. I gave it an odd look at first too, so I know that it took a bit for me to pick it up and actually read it.

What it took was hearing Libba Bray read a section of the book aloud at the Friday Night Fight, part of the Reading Matters conference, and the Emerging Writers’ Festival held in Melbourne over the weekend. Not only was the passage hilarious, Libba Bray is an amazing reader, and as I read the book today I realised that her words are so good that they sound just right in your head.

I won’t tell you too much about the book, because that would be spoiling it, but it is a satire, it does have beauty queen contestants, and it is so funny I laughed aloud on numerous occasions. It was also so pointedly true that I wept, because I can relate to what the girls go through, despite never having done anything that girly in my life, or being stuck on a deserted island.

Pick up this book, read it, and if you don’t find yourself changed for the experience, I would be surprised.

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray, go and get it!

Leave a Reply

