What happens after the busy?

Today I found myself sitting, staring blankly at my laptop. I’d been working so hard to get to a writing goal, for Camp NaNoWriMo, that I had actually managed to reach it before deadline. But I had cut everything else out to make time for the project, and then, with it done, I suddenly had nothing that needed my absolute, immediate attention. I was adrift.

And for a good hour I just stared, clicking randomly through things on the internet and wondering what I should do, and that’s when I realised, there are really good reasons to have life/work balance and I hadn’t been balanced at all lately.

So I took a moment, sat on my mental island, and surveyed the things I had been meaning to get to but just hadn’t made the time for because of Camp. It was then I realised that balance isn’t all or nothing. It’s made up of all those little things that happen in a day, that collect like driftwood on sandy shores.

After being single-mindedly busy, I felt lost, like I had no goals or ambitions or needs now that it had been done. But the truth was I had been ignoring the little things I wanted and needed to do in order to get the busy thing done. Today, I made the first little steps to getting back to balance again. I ate breakfast, I did some light exercise, I went to work, I watched some videos I’d been meaning to study, and I picked up a cookbook so I could plan some good food in the next few weeks.

When things get busy, sometimes it’s easy to lose sight of the things not directly related to the all consuming goal. And the little things will be there when the big thing is done, but sometimes it’s the little things that can give a sense of structure to a hectic period, and help with the transition back to normal paced life. Whatever pace that is.

 

Bridget and Bobby, a snapshot in transition. Bridget and Bobby will be living in the same paddock, once they and the other 9 ponies have gotten used to each other.Image

 

2 thoughts on “What happens after the busy?

  1. Oh man, I know what you mean about this. Are you stressing out about all the things you need to do and then realizing that you don’t actually need to do them? Because that’s where I’m at right now.

    • I am so there! And in the moments when I’m not sure what step to take next I’m paralysed. I think I need to start doing some relaxation stuff to try and give myself as much chance as I can to not freak out for no reason. Seriously, taking things in little steps works, I just have to remember to do it!

Leave a Reply

