No One is an Island

Some days, it seems like the only person who understands what’s going on in your world is you. You’re the only one on the tiny little spit of land that is surrounded by everything that’s going on in your world. Sure, people come and drop by, some even stay for a while, but when it comes down it it, it’s you and your island and that’s about it.

Some days, it’s incredibly isolating. Some days, it’s exactly what you need.

But, there is a trick to remember about your island. It’s actually connected to a lot of other islands, lots and lots of them, and every other island has a person on it too, and sometimes they feel like they’re all alone too.

With that in mind, it’s time to have a think about what kind of mini-island you want to have. My island has a lot of connections to other islands, and I spend a lot of time with other people, and doing a lot of things. I like to be busy, I like to have lots going on, and I really do like having people on my island. But sometimes, I just needs some time on my island doing me things. I am pretty bad at noticing when that is sometimes, but when I do address the balance, I feel much better.

Once I’ve addressed the balance, I find that everything comes much better, including writing. Considering that I’ve been struggling with Camp NaNoWriMo, I think that it’s fair to say one of the reasons I haven’t been doing as well as I could be is because until now I didn’t address the balance. Actually, I probably still haven’t addressed the balance properly, but it doesn’t have to be perfect to function. It’s mostly balanced, that’ll count for now.

Sometimes the things that need to be done are counter-intuitive, take some time out and get to know your island. It doesn’t matter what state your island is in now, but you have to start somewhere, have to get some idea of what it is you need and what you don’t.

Find some time to check in with yourself, even if it’s just to find out how much time you spend looking out at the rest of the world.Image

Bridget, looking at the ponies, because she’s stuck in the yard and they’re not.

Leave a Reply

