Make progress slowly

Lately, I have felt like I’ve barely had time to think, let alone get something together for a coherent blog post. So, this is an attempt at some sort of sense for a few hundred words.

 The last couple of weeks, I’ve found that I can barely find the time to think, eat, sleep, and get through work and uni, not to mention the crazy that is NaNo. In fact, despite the wonderfully reduced word count, I’ve found myself staring at blank pages, or highlighting articles in all the colours to try and find something I can write about.

 So last week, I realised that I couldn’t keep on doing what I was doing and feeling like I hadn’t achieved anything I needed to do. I did something I should have done in the first place. With the help of a few people, I gave myself permission to just do little things. I know, I know, I wrote a whole post about it, but sometimes I forget the obvious.

 As soon as I did, as soon as I stopped and just let myself be for a minute, I felt that familiar niggle that happens when a character wants to tell me something. And so I listened. In the silence between the struggle to allocate every minute of every day, that was where my muse was hiding.

 For the next week, I’m going to try and just write down what honestly needs to be done, and letting myself have the space to be creative by not demanding that I be creative. It should be interesting, considering it’s NaNo and the whole point is write words regardless of how good they are.

 This week, I’m going to see if the best way forward is steadily. More haste, less speed. We’ll see.

I’m going to be trying to be like this cat, focused, but not frenetic.

Image

Leave a Reply

