Block it in

Today I realised that as much as I had been heading in the right direction, I had forgotten one of the key things I had learned from doing far too many NaNos. Block in writing time.

For those who don’t know what NaNo is, it’s officially called National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo, and is a 50k word in 30 day challenge. They run from the official websites, http://www.nanowrimo.org and http://www.campnanowrimo.org, every year and are a great way to get words on paper. Or screen, whichever you prefer. They’re great, and I highly recommend the official books too, if you don’t want to write during the challenge months.

But I digress. One of the things that NaNoWriMo teaches is that writing time, valuable, precious writing time, can be squeezed in much more easily than it seems. Which means that as I am sitting staring at Facebook and wondering what to randomly search for next, I could actually be giving myself writing time. Which is precisely the thing I had forgotten to do despite looking for ways to build Motivational Mass. Sort of accidentally undermined the whole process there…

As with all goals, once you break it down into steps, the next thing to do is make time for it. Stationary supply shops seems to have endless ways to make blocking in time easy, wall charters, weekly planners, all sorts of things. I have a small calendar with horses hanging next to my desk, and a blank weekly planner on my desk so I can keep track of what I’m up to.

This week, block in some time for writing, and don’t do anything else even if the words aren’t going anywhere. See what happens when you give yourself the time and permission to do it, I’m finding it easier already.

All I need now is a cat on my lap, like this cutie, and I’m set!

Image

Leave a Reply

