Distraction Habit

There is only one reason for the delay between this update and the last one, I got distracted. I would like to say it was a productive sort of distraction that happened because my muse grabbed hold of me and demanded that I write, but that’s not the case. In fact, this distraction was comprised of everything that’s important in my life except writing. And it led me to an interesting idea.
Motivation builds on itself, but it’s got to have somewhere to go.
I’ve decided that I need a new way of dealing with distraction, because the ‘get it out of the way first’ tack just hasn’t worked. I’ll organise myself for this job interview, then I’ll write. I just need to see what my sister thinks about this horse, then I’ll write. Turtle just needs fed, I’ll make a cup of tea, feed Turtle, then I’ll write. Guess what I never managed to get to? I do have job training, a new horse who’s going to be delivered to my sister soon, and a much less hungry turtle, but I haven’t put one word down on my novel.
As I write this, I’m sitting on the crowded peak hour morning train, and I wish I could stare at nothing but there are people blocking the view of windows. Which is a good thing, because over the last few weeks I’ve gotten into the habit if being distracted. And so I’m doing that thing I’ve been meaning to for weeks, writing a post for my blog. Once I’ve finished this, I am going to attempt to write some of the first chapter of my current work in progress, so it’s actually in progress. As I collect little bits of motivation, I need to put it somewhere so it can grow, develop mass, and make the easy choice doing productive things. It’s all well and good to make plans to do something, but distraction is insidious and some days it’s welcome. Which is why I’ve struggled with it so much lately. Today I want to break the habit, even for just a little bit. Every attempt helps.
Success is made up of all the little day to day choices.
That’s as true for horse training as for anything else, and so I’m going to attempt to make small, good, productive choices. The only person who can write my novel is me. The only person who can tell the story you want to tell is you. That’s it. No one else will ever give it the same emphasis or subtlety that you will. No one. And you’re the only one who can break the hold of distraction and get the story out there.
So onward, brave storyteller! Distraction plays the friend, but it will have no qualms poisoning your drink or stabbing you in the back.
Below is one of my newest distractions. Her name is Bridget, she’s amazing, and I’m going to work really hard at what I need to do so I can enjoy being distracted by her.
Image

Author’s Note: This post has been left as originally written, somewhere between 7-8am on a Monday while on public transport. I felt  it was important to show that motivation and action don’t have to make sense, they just have to happen for something to start. Sometimes the hardest thing to do is let it be a mess, but it works. Hope everyone is well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

